Sheffield chemist wins prestigious Royal Society of Chemistry Award

10th May 2018

Professor Joseph Harrity, who works at the University of Sheffield, has been named the Royal Society of Chemistry Bader Award winner for 2018.

Professor Harrity, from the University of Sheffield's Department of Chemisty, works on the field of organic synthesis, a branch of chemistry that allows scientists to design new compounds at the molecular level, and then to prepare and study them in the lab. -We are especially interested in making small fragments of organic molecules that have tailored functional handles, allowing them to be used as building blocks for the efficient chemical synthesis of new and useful end products," he said. On receiving the award, Professor Harrity added: -I have been very fortunate to work alongside a large number of scientists with a range of experiences and backgrounds; from undergraduates to postgraduates, as well as colleagues from academia and industry. My research programme has been shaped by their hard work, inspiration and creativity, and I am extremely honoured to accept the 2018 Bader Award on their behalf. The Bader Award is awarded for the development of innovative strategies for the synthesis of functionalised heterocyclic scaffolds. Professor Harrity receives £2000 and a medal. Dr Robert Parker, chief executive of the Royal Society of Chemistry said:-The chemical sciences are vital for the wellbeing of our world and chemical scientists help to change people's lives for the better. That's why we're so proud to celebrate the innovation and expertise of our community through our Prizes and Awards. -This year's inspiring and influential winners come from a range of specialisms, backgrounds, countries and communities. Each has done their bit to advance excellence in the chemical sciences to improve the lives of people around the world now and in the future. Winners are recognised for the originality and impact of their research, or for their contributions to the chemical sciences industry or chemistry education. The Awards also acknowledge the importance of teamwork across the chemical sciences, and the abilities of individuals to develop successful collaborations. An illustrious list of 50 previous winners of the Royal Society of Chemistry's Awards have gone on to win Nobel Prizes for their pioneering work, including 2016 Nobel laureates Jean-Pierre Sauvage, Fraser Stoddart and Ben Feringa.

You might also be interested in

British Chambers of Commerce appoints Shevaun Haviland as new Director General

Fri 5th March 2021

The Board of the British Chambers of Commerce (BCC) has today announced the appointment of Shevaun Haviland as the new Director General of the organisation.

BCC provides its full response to March 2021 Budget

Wed 3rd March 2021

Giving his reaction to the Chancellor’s budget, Dr Adam Marshall, Director General of the BCC, said:

BCC gives its initial response to March 2021 budget

Wed 3rd March 2021

Giving his reaction to the Chancellor’s budget, Dr Adam Marshall, Director General of the BCC, said:

Sheffield Heart of the City – Pound's Park Consultation

Wed 3rd March 2021

Introducing proposals for an iconic new city centre park, located between Rockingham Street & Carver Street.